recipe: emily levenson’s parsnip and sweet potato latkes

Remember my post awhile back on the greatness of parsnips and how many health benefits they bring?  I warned you that you’d be seeing more recipes featuring parsnips!  Today I bring you a recipe that my husband called a “top ten!”  I cannot claim it as mine, though.  I made some mild tweaks to Emily Levenson’s parsnip and sweet potato latkes.  Be prepared to make extra so people can go back for seconds!

(Note: The recipe below is Emily’s original.  I will make mention of my changes below it.)

Parsnip and Sweet Potato Latkes

Ingredients:

1-2 sweet potatos (or yams)
2-4 parsnips, peeled
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 red onion, chopped
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
oil for cooking (safflower, canola)

My changes:  I substituted brown rice flour for the whole wheat, I used a yellow onion, 3 eggs instead of two, and I added about 1 1/2 tbs dill seeds.

Method:

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.  Peel potatos and parsnips and grate/shred in a food processor or food grater — drain if watery.  Stir potato and parsnip mixture together with flour, eggs, onions, baking powder, salt, and pepper (and dill seeds!) till combined well. Heat oil on a nonstick skillet in moderate heat till hot but not smoking.  Spoon latke mixture into skillet and flatten.  Add as many as the pan will hold and cook till golden brown.  (about 2 minutes on each side.)  Transfer latkes onto paper towels to drain.  Keep warm on a rack set in a shallow baking pan in the oven. 

With my substitutions, this recipe is gluten free, vegetarian, soy free, and dairy free.

2 thoughts on “recipe: emily levenson’s parsnip and sweet potato latkes

  1. so glad you BOTH enjoyed them. my family of picky eaters also loved. FYI – they also freeze well, so if there are any leftovers…put them in the freezer for a quick latke fix later in the week.

I love to hear your thoughts and feedback!

