Recipe: beef and wild rice soup

This recipe literally came off the top of my head as I was making it.  As I was contemplating what to make for dinner for my flu-ridden husband, I thought, “something simple but satisfying.”  And that’s exactly what happened.  It’s the product of looking around the kitchen and utilizing what we already had, even thought I wasn’t savvy enough to make a menu plan this week!

The main ingredients that caught my eye:

No, that’s obviously not applesauce in the Mott’s jar.  It’s homemade beef stock left over from a chuck roast I made last week.  (More on stocks and such later in another post…) I try to use stocks and broths whenever I can because of the added nutritional value it provides.  And call me a wino, but I’ve been pretty interested in cooking with wine lately.

 Out of that, dinner was born:

Beef and Wild Rice Soup

Ingredients:

1/2 cup brown rice
1/2 cup wild rice
1 large carrot, chopped
1 small onion, finely diced
1 stalk celery, diced
1 1/2 cups shredded, cooked beef
2 1/2 cups beef stock, fat included
2/3 cups red wine
2 cups water
1 tsp powdered garlic
2 tsp thyme
1 1/2 tsp basil
salt
pepper

Method:

Cook up your brown and wild rice as normal.  Meanwhile use this time to chop up your vegetables or cook up your meat if you don’t have leftovers like I happened to.  Once your rice is about halfway cooked, add in the vegetables and 1/2 cup of your water and let the rice and veggies cook fully.  Once cooked, add in your beef, beef stock, red wine, remaining water, and spices.  Stir and bring to a boil, cover, and let simmer for about 10 minutes.  This recipe made about 4-5 main course servings for me.  I think I could have salted it more than I did and/or added more spices, but it was still delicious and everyone who ate it seemed pleased!

This recipe is gluten free, egg free, and soy free.

 

 

 

I love to hear your thoughts and feedback!

